About the 2018 Viola Awards

The 2018 Viola Award winners group photo

2018 Viola Awards created by Elizabeth Bonzani

To an audience of over 600 patrons, the Flagstaff Arts Council announced the winners of the 2018 Viola Awardson Saturday, March 3, 2018, at the High Country

Award Facts and Information

  • Dark Sky Aerial became the first group to win back-to-back Viola Awards in the same category in consecutive years. They won in 2017 for Opia.
  • The grouping of the Master Chorale of Flagstaff with NAU Men’s and Women’s Chorales made for the largest group (over 150 people) to ever perform at the Viola Awards.
  • Several winners took home a Viola after being a previous Finalist:
    • Janelle Reasor and Firecreek Coffee Company both won after being named a Finalist for the third time.
    • This was the second nomination for Tim McKay.
    • The Mural Mice won this year on their fourth turn as a Finalist.
  • Shawn Skabelund became the first individual to win three Viola Awards. He previously won for Virga: the Hunt for Water in 2013, and with Janice ChenJu Chiang for Composition for Forests.
  • Elizabeth Bonzani crafted this year’s award. She says about her design: “I chose to incorporate geodes in the design of these awards, as they illustrate the beauty that is within all of us. Violet represents pure thought and our connection with infinite consciousness, and it is in this place that we produce our highest work.”
  • In ten years, the Viola Awards has hosted 5,008 attendees, honored 614 Finalists, given out 106 awards (including 11 Legacy Awards), and raised over a quarter million dollars to support the arts and sciences!

Official 2018 Viola Award Winners

Viola Legacy Award

Ed George

Excellence in Visual Arts
Mural Mice for 2017 Murals

Community Impact

AZ Historical Society for Todos Unidos

Community Impact
Janelle Reasor

Excellence in Storytelling
Annette McGivney for Pure Land

Excellence in Music
Tiny Bird for Halfway Up the Mountain

Business for the Arts
Firecreek Coffee Company

Emerging Artist
Kimberly Jarchow

Excellence in the Performing Arts

Dark Sky Aerial for TILT

Excellence in Arts Education
Tim McKay

Excellence in Science Education
Christine Sapio

Innovation Award
D. Blackhorse, A. Collier, T. Iurato, S. Skabelund for Hope & Trauma in a Poisoned Land

Official 2018 Viola Award Nominees

Excellence in the Performing Arts

Excellence in Music

Excellence in the Visual Arts

Excellence in Storytelling

Emerging Artist

Excellence in Arts Education

Excellence in Science Education

Community Impact (Individual)

Community Impact (Organization)


Business for the Arts

2018 Award Category Criteria >


2018 Viola Event Photos & Videos

Winner Photos
Gala Photos

Special thanks to Nick Geib of Firewatch Media for his video production work. He is the producer behind all the nominee videos. Click here to view our YouTube channel to see all the videos in one place.

2018 Viola Award Sponsors

The Flagstaff Arts Council would like to salute the many sponsors who make the Viola Awards possible. Without their support, this amazing community program wouldn’t have become the wild success it is today. Your 2017 Viola Awards Sponsors are listed below. For information about becoming a sponsor of the Viola Awards, please contact Elizabeth Vogler by email or phone at (928) 779-2300 x109.

2017 Title Sponsor

2017 Premier Sponsor


2017 Major Sponsors



Findlay Toyota




Garrey, Woner, Hoffmaster & Peshek, P.C. » Andrew Peshek