Jeffrey TaylorJeff Taylor teaches AP Environmental Science and AP Chemistry at Flagstaff High School. He is the 2014 Coconino County Teacher of the Year and 2015 Arizona Education Foundation’s Ambassador for Excellence (Top 5 finalist for Arizona Teacher of the Year). He also won the 2014 Sustainability Curriculum Award by the Sustainable Economic Development Initiative of Northern Arizona for interdisciplinary curriculum associated with developing forest management plans that connect economic opportunity with environmental protection and management.

Jeff is the co-chair of the Advanced Placement Academy magnet program at Flagstaff High School. The goal of the program is to provide outstanding academic opportunity and college preparation for students across all socio-economic backgrounds throughout our community.

Since its inception three years ago, Flagstaff High School has expanded its AP course offerings to include AP Chemistry, AP Biology, AP Physics, AP Human Geography, and AP Studio Art.  Enrollment in pre-existing programs have expanded as well. Partially due to the emergence of the AP Academy, which has also resulted in increasing test scores, as well as, our concerted efforts to increase access for under-represented minorities including our 25% Native American and 20% Hispanic population, Flagstaff Unified School District was named one of only three districts in the state of Arizona, and one of 547 out of over 16,000 districts in the United States and Canada, to be named to the College Board’s AP District Honor Roll this year.

Jeff came to Flagstaff from Washington state, where he worked on interpretive programs at Olympic National Park. He was awarded a National Park Service Special Act Award for his development of curriculum associated with the Elwha Ecosystem Restoration Project. Prior to that, he was a science teacher in Italy working for the Department of Defense Dependent Schools. He has a Master’s degree in Zoology from Michigan State University and a Bachelor’s degree in Zoology from the University of Washington.